In Ireland

'Physics High Flyers'

If you are you wondering what to do on the Saturday of the May Bank Holiday (5th May) then help is at hand.

As part of the 2012 Dublin City of Science Festival, the Institute of Physics in Ireland (IOPI) are proud to announce that they will be hosting a 'Physics High Flyers' Event on Saturday May 5th in the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, 123 St Stephens Green, Dublin 2. This public event is open to anybody who would like to hear some of the most influential scientists in the World speak in an informal atmosphere about their careers, research and the future of Physics and Science in general. The Programme includes two 'Physicists in the Chair' interview/Question & Answer sessions.

Distinguished Speakers include:

- * Prof. Jerome Friedman 1990 Physics Nobel Prize Winner who uncovered the first experimental evidence that, protons had an internal structure, later known to be quarks.
- * Prof. Margaret Murnane 2011 RDS Irish Times Boyle Medal Winner who is an Irish Physicist, at the very forefront of ultra-short pulsed laser research.
- * Prof. Anton Zeilinger 2010 Physics Wolf Prize Winner who is a world-renowned pioneer in the field of quantum information and quantum optics.
- * Prof. Henry Kapteyn 2010 Schawlow Prize Winner whose pioneering work has pushed X-ray source research to the very brink of laser-like technology.
- * Prof. Cecilia Jarlskog 2011-2014 President of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics

How to Register: Participation in this event is free of charge and open to all (i.e. it not just for Physicists). Numbers are limited so to book a place please send a brief email to iopi@rcsi.iemailto:iopi@rcsi.ie indicating in the subject field 'IOPI High Flyers Event' and include in the body of the text the names of the people in your group who would like to attend.

More information at:

http://www.iopireland.org/events/index.html?trumbaEmbed=view%3Devent%26eventid%3D99364426

Time	Speaker	Title	Lecture Title
09.25	Dr Kevin	Chair of Institute of Physics in	Welcome Address
	McGuigan	Ireland	Welcome Address
09.30 – 10.15	Prof. Henry Kapteyn	Recipient of the 2010 Schawlow	"Science at the Timescale of the Electron – Laser-Like
	Tapicy	Prize of the American Physical	X-Ray Beams from
		Society	Tabletop Lasers"
10.15 - 11.00	Prof. Cecilia	President of the International	
	Jarlskog	Union of Pure & Applied	"The greatest mysteries in
		Physicists (IUPAP) and member	the physical universe"
		of the Physics Nobel Committee	
11.00 – 11.15	Comfort Break		
11.15 – 12.00	Prof.	Winner of the 2011 RDS Irish	
	Margaret	Times Boyle Medal for Scientific	"Capturing the Dance of
	Murnane	Excellence and the 2010 R.W.	Electrons in Molecules and
		Wood Prize of the Optical Society	Materials"
		of America	
12.00 – 12.45	"Physicists in the Chair" Interview session with speakers		
	Dr Tony Scott interviews all the speakers from the morning session		
12.45 – 14.00	Break for Lunch		
14.00 – 14.45	Prof. Anton	Recipient of the 2007 IoP Isaac	
	Zeilinger	Newton Medal & the 2010 Wolf	"Quantum Entanglement:
		Prize in Physics for his pioneering	From Einstein's Spook to
		work in the field of quantum	Secure Computation"
		information and quantum optics	
14.45 – 15.30	Prof. Jerome	Shared, the 1990 Nobel Prize in	
	Friedman	Physics with Henry Kendall and	<i>"</i>
		Richard Taylor for the first	"The Road to Quarks and
		experimental evidence that	Beyond"
		protons had an internal structure,	
45.00 40.45	"Dhuaisiata in t	later known to be quarks.	
15.30 – 16.15	"Physicists in the Chair" Interview session with speakers		
	Dr Tony Scott interviews both speakers from the afternoon session		